Floral top for the summer

Hello dear readers!

I have been enjoying the sunshine recently and have sewn less 😦 But one of my latest projects was to use the lovely floral fabric purchased at Leon’s and make a summery top out of it. I loved the tropical vibe of the print and thought that the lightweight fabric would be very comfortable in the heat (yes, it can be hot in Manchester 😉

But, what I didn’t realize was the fact that the fabric could be kind of tricky to handle. Luckily, Pauline helped me out  and we managed to tame the slippery fabric. What do you reckon?

SONY DSCSONY DSC

7 thoughts on “Floral top for the summer

  1. Looks great! I have yet to venture into garment sewing, it scares me a bit. For some reason I don’t have any qualms when cutting into quilting fabrics anymore but the garment fabrics seem so precious somehow. It might be because I’m clueless about fitting, but I just saw your pencil skirt and it seems like you know what you’re doing!

    • Thanks Nina! Actually, I don’t always know what I’m doing, I just take risks and sometimes it ends up nice and sometimes differently from my intentions 😉 But that’s part of the beauty of being an amateur, you can take your time, play with fabrics and the sewing machine. In the case of the pencil skirt, my plan was originally to make a circle skirt! The result is ‘slightly’ different 🙂

Leave a Reply

