Liebster award

Hi there!

I am so pleased to have been nominated for a Liebster Award by my fellow blogger Navybluethreads! It is such an honour! Thank you so much http://navybluethreads.wordpress.com! Check out her sewing blog and be inspired by her delightful and gorgeous projects.

Navybluethreads asked me a few questions and my aim is to answer those as accurately as possible. I’ll share the answers with you.

1-2. when and why did you catch the sewing bug?

It all happened in September 2013 when after purchasing some African wax print fabric in Paris, I decided to start sewing a skirt for myself. I think it happened quite randomly, I never intended to sew before and it wasn’t my girl’s dream either. But as soon as I started, I really enjoyed the feeling it creates and I loved the peaceful atmosphere while sewing. It also helps to switch off and I realised that  while sewing, I didn’t think about anything else.

3. who infected you?

Pauline my mother-in-law infected me. She is a highly talented sewer and she also trains students to become Design technology teachers. She is very patient with me and explains everything very clearly. I’ve now started to be more autonomous but I still have so much to learn from her! The only thing I fear is that my kitchen (where I sew) gets like her attic (where she sews)!

4. which handmade item are you most proud of?

My first ever handmade item was the skirt I mentioned above. It still remains the sewing project I am the most proud of because I was amazed by the transformation through the sewing process. And I did it! Me!

5. and lastly what’s your favourite sewing soundtrack?

I listen to all kinds of music when I sew but recently, I’ve been listening to William Tyler’s album ‘Impossible truth’ and to Elvis! Nothing in common except the fact that they make me sew!

Now, I’d like to pass the award to fellow bloggers who deserve to be known.I’d like to nominate

http://bellaraeblaze.wordpress.com/ for her creative blog

http://wanderingchickblog.wordpress.com/ for her happy wandering

http://ellerali.wordpress.com/ for her inspiring posts

http://fromoldjeans.wordpress.com/ for all the great projects around old jeans

http://jillybeanjar.wordpress.com/ for the beautiful crafty items she makes

If you’re willing to accept the award, the rules here, are copied from Barbara Jane’s blog:

Thank the person who gave you the award, linking back to that person’s blog. Copy and paste the Liebster award to your own profile.  Answer the 5 questions your nominator asked. Pick 5 blogs you feel deserve to be noticed (they have to have under 200 followers). Ask them 5 questions. Let your nominees know they have been chosen by leaving a comment on their blog.

Here are my 5 questions for the nominees:

1. How did you come to sew?

2. What inspires you?

3. What do you like about sewing?

4. What advice would you give to somebody who wanted to start sewing?

5. What do you like to listen to while sewing?

One thought on “Liebster award

Leave a Reply

